What Is Yoga?

Yoga was developed in India for mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being up to 5,000 years ago. Today, millions of people use different aspects of yoga for stress relief, fitness, wellness, healing, vitality, mental clarity, peace of mind, and spiritual growth. While many religions aspire to make yoga their own creation, it belongs to all of us. It contains many characteristics that can be found in the Hindu and Buddhist faiths. The structural framework of the yoga practice is based on the eight limbs of yoga. Each is part of a holistic focus which eventually brings completeness to the individual as they find their connectivity to the divine.

The Eight Limbs of Yoga-
Yama : Universal morality
Niyama : Personal observances
Asanas : Body postures
Pranayama : Breathing exercises, and control of prana
Pratyahara : Control of the senses
Dharana : Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual
Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
Samadhi : Union with the Divine


Power Yoga-

Power yoga is a more advanced form of yoga that is adapted from the basic Ashtanga yoga. Most poses are held for up to five full breaths compared to the usual one to three breaths. It requires strength and focus, as well as increased amounts of energy. Power yoga creates a new level of discipline in your mind and body as you pose, move around, and increase your flexibility while remembering to breathe.


Benefits of Yoga-

Weight reduction
Increases your flexibility
Increases your muscle strength
Improves your energy
Cardio and circulatory health
Perfects your posture
Drains your lymphs and boosts immunity
Helps your focus
Improves your balance
Eases Mirgraines
Releases Stress
Pain Relief
Inner Peace

draw drawing-2